The Eli Review Blog

New tutorials, research, teacher stories, and app updates - subscribe via RSS or our newsletter!

Eli Review at San Francisco State

San Francisco State University is one of Eli Review’s long-time institutional partners. Since Fall 2015, we’ve offered a wide range of professional development opportunities for teaching peer feedback and revision.

We are delighted to continue that tradition in 2021-2022 with the continued support from SFSU’s CEETL.

Beginner’s Workshop

Read the documentation for integrating Eli Review into iLearn.

This video explains the two strategies for integrating Eli Review into iLearn:

(a) creating a new Eli course from scratch

(b) cloning an existing Eli Review course.

(Image credit: Brian Neumann, SFSU CEETL)

Teaching Community

Instructors meet Fridays at 10 AM Pacific on Zoom for half-hour conversation to share ideas about teaching peer feedback and revision.

Videos are posted within the slides.

Fall 2021 Schedule

August-September–What Instructors Can Do to Improve Feedback

  • Aug 27, Friday, 10 AM ( PST) Starting Small
    NOTE: In Roster, “Suspend” students who drop.
  • Sept 3, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Forming & Managing Groups
  • Sept 10, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Describe-Evaluate-Suggest As Review Task Design
  • Sept 17, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Describe-Evaluate-Suggest as Comment Pattern
    NOTE: In Roster, “Suspend” students who drop before the Withdraw date.
  • Sept 24, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Bellwether Four Writers and Reviewers

October–What Students Can Do to Improve Feedback

  • Oct 1, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Praise
  • Oct 8, Friday, 10 AM (PST) One long comment > many short ones
  • Oct 15, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Helpfulness Ratings
  • Oct 22, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Add to Revision Plan & Reflect
  • Oct 29, Friday, 10 AM (PST) #Hashtags

November-December–What Instructors Can Do to Improve Revision

  • Nov 5, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Time & Scope
  • Nov 12, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Coach revision decisions
  • Nov 19, Friday 10 AM (PST) Reward Revision
  • Nov 26, Friday, 10 AM (PST) NO MEETING: Fall Break
  • Dec 3, Friday, 10 AM (PST) Blaming and Crediting Eli (surveys!)

 

 

 

 

Eli Review at San Francisco State was published to the Eli Review Blog in the category Professional Development.

Continue Reading Eli Review Content

Want to keep reading?

Eli Review Free Trial

Ready to try Eli Review?